Basketry

It was difficult for me to see my problem as a problem, instead of a natural condition – absent-minded, flaky, bad with names, no sense of direction – and it was a relief to know that it wasn’t natural.  It was a relief to be able to blame these things on my underactive thyroid.

But my current doctor has quietly encouraged me not to go too far in the other direction: it’s probable that stress exacerbated all of these problems – and it certainly made them manifest in such a toxic way.  And I can treat myself with happiness and stability, not just a supplement.

I also don’t need to pathologize myself unduly – being bad with names and vacuuming doesn’t make me ill or unbalanced.

Leave a Reply

